Wales Rugby League



Wales Students name train-on squad for 2019 Four Nations

8th March 2019, 11:00

Wales Students name train-on squad for 2019 Four Nations

Following the successful Wales Rugby League Student Origin match last weekend, Wales Students coach Paul Emanuelli has selected a 26- man train-on squad ahead of the Four Nations this summer.


He and his coaching staff will then reduce the squad to 20 ahead of the tournament in Scotland.

Coleg y Cymoedd and Leeds Beckett University each provide six players. The South Wales establishment is the home of Wales’ only Category 3 Rugby League Academy, whilst the Beckett RL side are well-known for their on-field success.

Coleg Llandrillo provide two players to the squad, whilst there are one each from Bangor University, Cardiff University, Cardiff Metropolitan University, Cardiff and Vale College, Coventry University, Educ8 Ystrad Mynach, Liverpool John Moores University, Oxford Brookes University, Rydal Penrhos School, University of South Wales, Swansea University and University of Worcester.

Emanuelli said: “The staff and I are extremely pleased with how this year’s programme and selection process has gone. We’ve had time to plan and prepare and we believe we’ve given more people more opportunity to represent their country.

“The trials, regional training sessions and the Origin game were all a success, and it’s a template we can use going forward.

“Congratulations to the 26 that have made the squad and thank you to everyone that’s taken part and made selection so difficult. Now the real hard work begins for them all as they fight to make our final 20-man squad for the 2019 Four Nations.”

WALES STUDENTS SQUAD 2019 : Dafydd Jones (Bangor University), Huw Parks (Cardiff University), Rowland Kaye (Cardiff Metropolitan University), James Bartlett (Cardiff and Vale College), James Wickham (Coventry University), Charlie Bodman, Dafydd Hellard, Matthew Jones, Jacob Lee, Matthew Morgan, Ieuan Roberts (all Coleg y Cymoedd), Rhys Gant (Educ8 Training, Ystrad Mynach), Dewi Billingham, Rhys Davies, Cobi Green, Macauley Harris, Ellis Simon, Fraser Stroud (all Leeds Beckett University), Aled Davies (Liverpool John Moores University), Connah Harding, Henri Roberts (both Coleg Llandrillo), Joel Hopkins (Oxford Brookes University), William Lynch (Rydal Penrhos School), Lloyd Selby-Smith (University of South Wales), Sam Baker (Swansea University), Max Hendy (University of Worcester).