Wales Rugby League



Leadership team appointed by Shane Eccles for Wales Commonwealth side

22nd February 2018, 12:50

Leadership team appointed by Shane Eccles for Wales Commonwealth side

Rather than appoint a single captain for the Wales Commonwealth Championships side for this tournament, Wales coach Shane Eccles has appointed a leadership team.

Inside the home shed at the Suncorp Stadium


Zak Williams, Connor Farrer and Rhys Gant have been appointed as the leadership team for Wales' two-day Commonwealth Championships tournament this weekend.

Wales head coach Shane Eccles said: "All three have shown leadership qualities over the last few days making them ideal for the posts. We realise that in Nines, a single captain may not be on the pitch all the time which is why we chose to go with three players."

Wales had Thursday off from training after a tough two days on the paddock at Redcliffe.

The team spent the afternoon in the centre of Brisbane, visiting the Suncorp Stadium, home of Brisbane Broncos, before having some free time to go shopping.

In the evening, it was shirt presentation time at Redcliffe Dolphins Leagues Club, and we were delighted to be joined by a Welsh supporting family from Townsville, the Madigan family, with their children Ella, Louie and Dewi as guests of honour at the event.

Click here to watch live online.


The team at Suncorp Stadium

Here is the Wales squad for the two days.

1 Cobi Green (Bradford Bulls)

2 Stefan Collins (Coleg Y Cymoedd)

4 Paul Edwards (Unattached)

5 Liam Rice-Wilson (Coventry Bears)

6 Zak Williams (Coventry Bears)

7 Rhys Gant (Valley Cougars)

8 Dan Crabtree (Ulverston ARLFC)

9 Connor Farrer (West Wales Raiders)

10 Jake Thomas (Torfaen Tigers)

11 Blake Turner (Rochdale Hornets)

12 Aneurin Walker (West Wales Raiders)

The Madigan family with some of the Wales players

14 Macauley Harris (West Wales Raiders)

16 Morgan Jefferies (West Wales Raiders)

17 Karlin Claridge (West Wales Raiders)

18 Liam Silver (Torfaen Tigers)